Valentines-Raspberry Pistachio Frangipane Tart

18 Feb

It was Valentines this week. To make this week special, I decided to make something sweet for my friends and family. I recently bought 2 boxes of raspberries. Initially I was going to make a cheesecake but at the last minute I craved tart. Tart it is. I have not made frangipane for a while thus I decided to make a frangipane tart with pastry cream.

Tips:
1. For a stronger pistachio taste, toast the pistachios first
2. Pour the hot milk into the eggs not the other way around.

To make the tart, I first made the pate sucre. The frangipane came next. I wanted a roasted pistachio taste to the frangipane so I toasted some pistachios and gournd them till fine. A coffee grounder will do the trick. Butter was then measured and heated. Whipped cream, sugar and eggs where mixed in with the pistachios to form a semi paste and then the cooled butter was poured in. I baked the tart shell for approx 15 minutes first. When done, raspberry jam was spread over the bottom of the tart shell. The Pistachio frangipane was then poured into the tart shell and baked some more. ** I suppose I could blind bake the tart shell with the frangipane in it. But will leave it till next time I make it. Once the pistachio frangipane and tart shell is cooked. The pastry cream was next to come. Once the pastry cream was done. Set it to cool. Once cooled pour over the pistachio frangipane tart and garnish with raspberries. Voila!!!

dsc_0598

dsc_0600

Pistachio Frangipane

1 stick butter unsalted
1/2 cup cane sugar
1 cup ground pistachios
2 eggs
1/4 cup heavy cream

Creme Patiserrie
1 1/4 cups milk
1 egg
2 egg yolks
2 table cornstarch
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 vanilla bean

Pate Sucre

1 stick butter
2/3 cup icing sugar
1 vanilla bean
3 tablespoon ground almonds
1 pinch salt
1 egg
1 2/3 cup flour

Bon Appetit!!! Happy Valentines Day.

Leave a comment

La pâtisserie de mes envies

Vous faire partager ma passion ...

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

GretaCooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

100 Days Of Evelyn

Dessert recipes, tutorials and photography