Halloween and Chestnut Cream Cake!!!!

31 Oct

Halloween is here!!!! Yay my favorite childhood day. I can just see the children all decked out in costumes and running up and down the neighbourhood shouting, Trick or Treat!!! There was something nostalgic and enduring about Halloween and I can’t help but reminisce my own childhood blissful memories of trick or treating away with Jack O Lanterns and witches every where. By the time we got home, I be counting up my stash of goodies. I wish I was a child again. Just remembering it makes me want to be a child again weeeeee 🙂 Those were the good old days. Perhaps it was that Fall was in full bloom and the excitement of candies, costumes, tricks and creepiness away made it extra special but nonetheless it proves to be one of most thought of special days for kids and adults.

In light of this special day and fall, I thought of making something Fall-ish again. I making chestnut cake again this time but I wanted to try the Mont Blanc method. I first had Mont Blanc in Vancouver and again in Japan. Yum. I really liked the chesnut cream they used. Creamy, nutty, sweet and with a hint of rum, it was decadent. Mont Blanc originated from France and composed of a merinque, cream and chestnut cream but since then there have been variations of the treat. In Japan, they use sponge cake. Today, I am making my own rendition of a mont blanc variation using sponge cake and chestnut cream.

To start of I made the chiffon cake and baked it and set aside for cooling. Next I started making the chestnut cream. To make the cream, I bought some fresh chestnuts and using a sharp knife put a x on them. Place them in the water and simmer for a few minutes. Remove the chestnuts a few at a time and take out the shell and inner lining as much as possible. Once the chestnuts were de-skinned, I then placed them in milk and simmered them till tender. Use a fork and test them for tenderness. Once they are tender from the milk, cool and drain them. Reserve the milk for use when pureeing in the food processor. If the puree is stiff then add some of the milk bit by bit. Use your judgement as to how thick the paste you want since I pureed it into a soft paste as added more milk than the recipe called for after all I was making chestnut vermicelli with it.

To make the sweetened cream, I made the paste and added icing sugar to the paste along with rum. Stir until well incorporated. Whip up some whipped cream and fold into the chestnut paste to make it even softer. Use your judgement again as to how thick or thin you want the paste to be. As a tip from Christophe Michalak I then created the chestnut vermicelli with a potato ricer. Apply onto whipped cream cover cake. Weeee I am so happy. I finally made my version of Mont Blanc with Chestnut Vermicelli.

DSC_0420

Chestnut Puree from Rose Beranbaum
36 Chesnuts
1 cup of milk (use judgement towards the consistency)

Chestnut Mousse Cream
1 cup chestnut puree
2/3 cup powdered sugar
2 tablespoons dark rum
heavy cream 2 liquid cups (use judgement towards the consistency of the paste)

Happy Halloween!!!!
Happy Halloween

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

