Apple Streusel Cake

29 Nov

Snow!!! After a few weeks of down pour, we finally have some snow to kick off the winter with. It was a beautiful feeling as I awaken to see the streets and houses blanketed in the soft fluffy snow, very tranquil and peaceful. Hopefully we will get some more snow in the city prior to Christmas. It would be a downer if Christmas was raining.

Still shivering while looking out through the frosty icicle covered windows, I felt a shiver go up my spine. Shoveling was a pain but very relaxing as well. It was definitely cold today in contrast to the rain filled days. I quietly contemplated about things to do besides shoveling and baking quickly came in my mind. As a bonus, the house would warm up moreover be filled with sweet aromas. This time, I decided on making an apple streusel cake and what timing….nothing would be more wonderful than to kick my feet up and relax while sipping on hot tea and savouring a slice of the cake.

To make the cake, I first made the streusel and then the cake. While a streusel cake may be seem simple to make, the ingredients added complexity to the taste.

Tips on making a struessel cake
-make the struessel yourself, toast the nuts first and then grind them to a fine powder.
-cream the butter with the sugar to fluffy light consistency first and then add eggs after which add the dry ingredients.

DSC_0624

DSC_0626

DSC_0630

Apple Cinnamon Crumble Cake

160 g butter (I used 100 g)
160 g sugar ( I used 100 g)
2 g salt
1 lemon (I used orange)
4 eggs
125 g nuts
125 g cake flour
3 g Baking Powder
20 ml milk

To assemble the cake, make the cake batter first. The batter was similar to pound cakes then and arrange apples on top of the unbaked cake. Sprinkle the streusel on top. Bake at 350 F for 40 to 50 minutes. Not a bad choice, half through the baking, I could smell the sweet aroma of vanilla and spice. When it was done, I quickly cut a slice and savoured it. The soft crunchy streusel and apple complimented each other well like a symphony in my mouth. The cake was rich and soft; it was a really good tea cake. Next time, as a suggestion, I would add sliced pear with the apples. This recipe was a keeper. Now that I have eaten the cake, I wish for more snow to come giving me perfect excuses to bake.

Happy 1st day of Snow.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

