Croissants-Christophe Felder

11 Oct

After few days of intermittent rain, it is finally sunny. I could not get enough of the sunshine. Are we having a late summer or mother nature was kind to us and let us have more sun hmmmm? Nonetheless, regardless of the rain, I finally stopped watching TV and got myself baking again. A friend and I have been having tea recently at Thomas Haas, my idol and motivation. His pastries never fail to turn an upside down frowns into happy faces. Both of us selected the almond croissant. Yummm…it was delicious to which my tummy will pay for ha ha. I liked the pastry so much that I decided to try making croissants again. Hopefully this time, the delicate and flaky pastries will turn out okay and not lumps of hard pastry. Hmmm…I wonder…if I fail to make them correctly…I can use them as little rocks. Moreover feed them to my guinea pigs…I can’t help bit snickering away. I am evil!!! 🙂

Keys to Making Croissants
-make sure both the butter half and the dough half are at the same temperature or consistency. If the butter is still lumpy encased in the dough, squash it with your finger. This step is absolutely crucial.
-between folds, make sure one brushes away the flour.
-if the dough is rolled too thin and breaks thus showing the butter, dab the dough gently with flour to repair the breakage
-in terms of turns allow for 3-4 turns. After each turn place dough into fridge for at least 1/2 hour to an hour
-when rolling make sure the dough remains rectangular.
-once you reached the 4th turn, it is time to roll out the dough and cut into triangles. Or you could leave the dough over night and roll out the next morning. The extra time will allow the croissants to rest more.
-when rolling make sure the triangles are stretched or pulled out lightly and roll away from you.
-Once the croissants been proofed to 1 1/2 or double in size at room temperature for about 2-4 hours. Make sure you do not place a hot bowl of water underneath them as the butter will melt. Instead place a cloth over them. Egg wash them and bake at 350 F for about 20-25 minutes.

DSC_0576

Buttery Croissants adapted from Felder

4 cups all purpose flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 tbsp plus tsp powdered milk
2 tsp salt
7 tbsp butter softened
1 1/4 fresh yeast (I found it was the better product than the instant yeast)
230 ml water
2 sticks butter chilled

DSC_0585

Result: I found the proofing did an amazing job. There was no runny mess of hot butter; furthermore, the active yeast was better than the instant yeast. I was quite happy about the outcome, Felder was quite thorough of his instructions but the added photos did an amazing job explaining the steps. Here’s to more croissant making and its products such as the almond croissant.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

