A Simple Warm Dish on a cold Winter Day: Scalloped Potatoes with Prosciutto

26 Jan

Boo hoo Christmas has come and gone. It truly was a magical season filled with joy and beauty. I really packed on some pounds stuffing my face with sugary sweets. New years started with a bang, as January steamed full ahead like a train. Work was filled with tasks, training and deadlines. Buried in a sea of correspondence and drafts, I barely had time to breathe let alone going for a walk; however, I am truly grateful for that as the winter air acts like a icy blanket clinging to the bones. With every icey breathe my sluggish body takes, scrapping away at frozen ice particles, I am cursing away at old man winter. No one likes spine tingling sensations as ice melts. frostIMG_1242

As my life was not miserable enough, I took a course on the weekends. Exhausted, tussled haired and weary eyed, I quickly trudge hrough several blocks of uphill incline to escape the wintery conditions to attend class. Joy!!!! My happiness was then came to an abrupt halt as the I saw what came next. 5 flights of stairs on an even steeper incline and worst in the cold arctic air… I think I shall faint. It was like climbing Mount Everest ill prepared. Mount_Everest_as_seen_from_Drukair2_PLW_editWith my legs aching and cold air burning in my lungs with every breathe on this long and arduous flight, I finally conquered the summit and headed to class.

After a long day of studying, I decided to re-nourish and rehydrate my dehydrated body with some my body with some steamy hot dinner. I had in mind potatoes. Simple but satisfying, potatoes were very versatile as they took to the flavours presented by other ingredients. I had some prosciutto and cream of mushroom soup lying around thus decided to make a simplified version of scalloped potatoes. I first peeled and sliced the potatoes, and then cut up some prosciutto. I then sauteed them together and simmered the potatoes in the soup. Next I arranged the potatoes, prosciutto and soup in a casserole dish and baked it at 350F until softened and lightly browned.

One would know the dish was done by the lovely aroma of smoked prosciutto and baked potatoes. One bite and I was in heaven. The creamy texture of the dish melted away in my mouth and I savoured each and every bite. Now that my tummy was filled and satisfied, I feel that I have energy to conquer Mt. Everest once again.
DSC_0303

Ingredients:

4 large russet potatoes
Proscuitto
Cream of Mushroom
Salt and Pepper to Taste.

Enjoy the Cold Weather and Warm Winter Dishes :)!!!

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

