Delicious Sorbets: Raspberry, Strawberry and Mango

28 Aug

As an ice cream conniseur that I am, one could see me 1st in the line ups at ice cream boutiques, wide eyed and longingly looking at flavours, on a hot summer day. My favorite was italian gelato. There would be smiles everywhere. Up and down the street, individuals would be licking their gobs of ice cold refreshing treat in the sweltering heat. Big surprise when I took an ice cream course. I was amaze at what one could do when making ice cream; there was virtually limitless combinations. The highlight was making an ice cream cake and bombe.

With the wonderfully warm sunny we have been receiving, albeit the rain today :(, it was the optimal time for ripe berries and better yet ICE CREAM 🙂 With the strawberries I chose at Krause Berry Farms and raspberries in the fridge, I took a chance at making Sorbet.

DSC_0113

Keys in making Sorbet:
-Make sure the fruit is ripe for better quality and taste
-Make sure to place the drum into the freezer for at least 24 hours
-Sugar content 1:1 ratio of sugar and water
-Alcohol improves the flavour and reduces the freezing temperature

Because I love both strawberry and raspberry, I combined the two fruits together to make the 1st sorbet. Wow the fresh strawberries were exquisite and aromatic. One could tell they were ripe as they produce a very sweet fragrance. The strawberries were first to be pureed and the raspberries came next. Sugar and water were measured and a simple syrup was created. Once cooled, I combined it with the pureed fruit and poured it into the ice cream machine to make sorbet. Giddy as a kindergarten, I was excited to see the syrup slowing thickening and becoming sorbet. Imagine my ecstasy when the I scooped out globs of the frozen treat. Next came the Mango Sorbet. Basically it was the same process as making the strawberry and raspberry sorbet. A tear may have rolled run my happy face when I saw the delicious golden yellow syrup thicken and form as Mango Sorbet was one of my favorites. Now I have two tubs of sorbet and more to come.

DSC_0128

Sorbet

500 ml Stock Syrup (1:1 ratio, sugar and water)
500 ml Fruit Puree
5 ml Lemon Juice

This was a basic recipe to use but guess what sometimes simpler is better. Enjoy your sorbet making days.

One Response to “Delicious Sorbets: Raspberry, Strawberry and Mango”

  1. Sugar et al. August 29, 2013 at 1:49 AM #

    Such lovely colours! I love that you used both strawberries and raspberries in the recipe. The look delicious!

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

