Truffles and Rochers-Jean Paul Hevin

8 Jun

I have been craving truffles again. I recently visited Thomas Haas and found myself oogling their goodies by that I meant their chocolates. Yes, I am a sucker for chocolates, I’m sure my dentist would love me for it too heheh. Like superman with his kryptonite cookbooks were for me. I bought a chocolate book called, Cooking With Chocolate, the year before and succumbed to a recipe by Jean Paul Hevin, a renowned chocolatier in Paris.

The recipe that really caught my eyes was the Rocher. I was first tried it on an splurge at La Maison Du Chocolat while vacationing in Europe, the economical way and was hooked on them eversince, line and sinker. Silky smooth, crunchy, crispy and sweet best described the chocolate; imagine my delight when I found the right recipe. To recreate the little chocolates, I roasted the almond slivers first. The chocolate ganache was made by boiling cream and using it to melt the chocolate. Hevin used feuilletine, which basically is wafer like biscuits. IMHO, these biscuits added a crispy texture to the chocolate as well.

When the ganache was set, I pipped them into balls and prepared the praline. Praline typically consisted of hazelnuts but I opted for pistachio instead. The ganache was then enrobed in the pistachio praline and set aside. Instead of combining the feuilletine with the ganache like Hevin suggested, I left them till the end as they became soggy. I first rolled the ganache balls in the feuilletine prior to coating them with chocolate and roasted almonds. They were then coated with chocolate again. Voila, you got the Rochers.

Kee Ling Tong, owner of Kee’s Chocolate, also inspired me. Customers raved about her chocolates. The sesame truffle caught my eye and interest therefore I aspired to make my own version of them. I first roasted some black and white sesame seeds and melted some dark chocolate. I then rolled the ganache onto the sesame seeds. The sesame truffle was a crowd favourite, rich, nutty and chocolatey. The toasted sesames complimented the ganache beautifully providing flavour and texture. I was quite pleased with the outcome of both truffles as they were a first try. There was no doubt in my mind, I will be trying more of Jean Paul Hevin’s recipes or being inspired by Kee Ling Tong.

Rochers
DSC_0371

3 1/2 oz (100g) milk chocolate (I combined milk and dark chocolate for the ganache)
9 oz praline (I used homemade pistachio praline)
1/3 oz crumbled crepes (I used feuilletine)

Coating
3 1/2 oz chopped almonds (I toasted mine)
1 lb bittersweet chocolate or milk chocolate (I used only milk chocolate)

Sesame Truffles
Ganache, Dark Chocolate and Toasted Sesame Seeds

2 Responses to “Truffles and Rochers-Jean Paul Hevin”

  1. ChocoParis June 23, 2013 at 3:16 PM #

    Those rochers look fabulous. Well done!
    Thanks for sharing this recipe.

    • Eva June 23, 2013 at 3:41 PM #

      Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

