Matcha Cheesecake

22 May

I decided to make another no bake cheesecake with the remaining cream cheese I had left over. Instead of making an ordinary cheesecake, I decided to make something extra. I have been reading alot on double baked cheesecakes and hence decided to make a double cheesecake as well. I considered making azuki cheescake but decided against it as it would be too sweet, hence I decided to make a baked new york style cheesecake instead.

I first made the new york cheesecake in silicone molds. Once that was completed, I proceeded to make the no bake matcha cheesecake. I first boiled the milk and then whisked the matcha green tea into the milk ensuring all granules were melted. Then added the cream cheese to the mixture. To prevent lumps and a creamy texture, I heated the creamcheese in a bain marie again. I then placed the gelatin in cold water to let it bloom and melted the gelatin in a bain marie as well. Once the gelatin has melted, I added this into the cream cheese mixture.

To assemble the matcha cheesecake, I placed the sable cookies at the bottom, and poured in some matcha mixutre and added the baked new york cheesecake and then topped it off with the remaining green tea mixture. As a decoration, I created a white chocolate border and painted on some red food colouring to create contrast. I then topped it off by decorating with strawberry pearls and freezed dried strawberries. DSC_0339

Matcha Cheese Cake (found here)
200g Arnotts Nice biscuits (or any other plain sweet biscuits)
100g unsalted butter, melted
150ml pure (whipping) cream
170g cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup caster sugar
100ml milk
1 1/2 tsp matcha powder (adjust to taste, I like mine a bit stronger)
1 1/2 tsp powdered gelatin

As a note: Instead of using new york cheesecake, as they are of a completely different consistency, I would recommend maybe trying a creme brulee or custard instead for next time. Enjoy.

2 Responses to “Matcha Cheesecake”

  1. Sarah Ng May 23, 2013 at 6:11 PM #

    I love the strawberry pearls. They make the cake look super cute.

    • Eva May 23, 2013 at 9:17 PM #

      thx Sarah

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

