Sun Run 2013

21 Apr

Wow after 2 weeks of training…the day was finally here and gone Well, I did not register but I ran the race just as well in light of the event. I am amazed that I pulled it off. I realize that I had not run long distance for 3 years but it so goes to say, that once you put your mind something with conviction and determination nothing is unachievable providing you put time and effort into it. This Sun Run was sweeter.

As I look back while I was training, sure there were individuals doubt me about my abilities and whether I was a good runner. At times I felt bad, but then I realized instead of utilizing that negativity, I decided to turn it into a motivating factor. While I may be bad, I’ll train harder. I may overweight, so I’ll eat less. Now I look back, I am all smiles, nothing can take that experience away from me. It is a journey after all.

I recently had the opportunity to work in a government and got to met a fine gentleman in his fifties. I had learned alot from him. As words of wisdom, even he mentioned that there will be haters, negative people around me the point was to not them effect me. I can’t control what they say but I can control how I react. The Sun Run journey really was something I would not forget due to the individuals who doubted and individuals who supported. Much like a road that has alot of hills with uphills and downhills, or life that has lemons. The key was not to give up and try harder.

I will not forget bolting through the finish line and finishing strong. It was sweet.

I hope that in the next few months, this positivity will shine in me and always believe in myself as that is where the strength is and it transpires with everyday life in terms of education, family, friends, relationships and work.

With the BMO Marathon looming closely. The Sun Run was used as a bench mark as to how fit I am and how much my body can endure. It made it more sweeter knowing that I am ready for the next challenge.

To all of those who question themselves, believe in yourself and know you are worthy.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

