Honey Walnut Prawns

7 Apr

It’s the weekend again, and went for a visit to UBC.  Its a peaceful environment where I spent tonnes of hours studying for midterms at Koerner Library, or just running along marine drive, which in my opinion was more relaxed than SFU, a dungeon in my opinion.  I’m a biased student hehehe.  But truly, the campus was set in such a beautiful environment from the buildings to the gardens.  One could see the evolving of the campus through the years reflected through the architecture.  From old brick buildings to concrete to state of the art well lit glass buidlings.   Now, the LSI building replaced my studying place.  The LSI was spacious, quiet, well lit and my favorite close to science, anatomy and especially Biology.

Sigh, if only I could see a microscope or a scalpel again…. the memories.  Before doing a 180, I remember taking 1st year Biology courses and labs. I still remember anatomy etc., genetics and cellular mitosis.   Well there was more I remember in 1st year biology, see mom, my brain was not used to grow and fertilize grass and weeds 🙂

Now to the main subject, to prevent my family developing diabetes from sugar overdose, I decided to make a favorish dish of moi’s which was Honey Walnut Prawns.  I first fell in love with it in Seattle and overjoyed when it was introduced in Vancouver.  What makes it a delight was the dressing and the pralined walnuts.  The dressing was basically a mayo dressing w/ honey, condensed milk and lemon juice but enough to contrast the crispy prawns.

I first deveined the prawns and marinated with some salt and pepper.  Then I made the walnuts.  I first boiled the walnuts in a little water to rid the bitter after taste and then fried them a bit for a lighter texture.  Next I whipped up some egg whites until frothy.  I then dipped the prawns into the whites first and the corn starch and fried them.  Next came the dressing.

I really like this dish as it brought back memories to when days were better, my cousin was still here and people weren’t one tracked minded or mental fixedness.  Meaning whatever I say, they will always think its what it they think.  Oh well…I am not out there to solve people’s problems.  But growling problem in my tummy is solved and hopefully who likes prawns.

Honey Walnut Prawns found here as well for method.DSC_0299

Ingredients:
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup walnut halves
oil for frying
1 pound shrimp (peeled and deviened)
1 egg white
1/2 cup corn starch
3 tablespoons mayonnaise
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 tablespoon sweetened condensed milk
1 tablespoon lemon juice

After eating them with my family, I now have 4 satisfied tummies.  Hehe…enjoy them.

One Response to “Honey Walnut Prawns”

  1. Rosa Mayland April 8, 2013 at 11:32 AM #

    A delicious combination! What great flavors. I love the idea.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

