Caramel Rum Kisses-Tish Boyle

25 Feb

I have been craving chocolate these days…thus decided to make chocolate. Well actually its either make it myself or break the bank buying them so which would it be….make them.

I bought Tish Boyles’ book on chocolate, see told you I was splurging….bad little girl.  Anyways, I saw this recipe on Caramel Rum Kisses. Thus decided to make them.

I did the dry caramel first and as per instructions by heating the sugar to hard crack stage and then grounded  it into a fine power. The cream was boiled and then came the grounded caramel sugar. The boiled cream was then poured onto the dark chocolate and rum to make the ganache. Whilst the ganache was setting or cooling, I prepared the chocolate disks by melting dark chocolate, tempering, cooling and cutting it into disks. Once the ganache was set, I piped the ganache onto the chocolate disks in the shape of kisses and stuck them in the fridge for cooling.

DSC_0214I next made the chocolate coating and dipped the kisses into the chocolate and voila caramel rum kisses.

Caramel Rum Mousse Ganache

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon lemon juice

1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons heavy cream

10 ounces dark chocolate

2 teasp. sugar

2 tablespoon unsalted butter

2 tablespoon dark rum

Round Chocolate Bases

3 ounces bittersweet chocolate couverture

Dark Chocolate Coating

1 1/4 pounds bittersweet chocolate couverture

Decoration

4 ounces milk chocolate couverture

Note:  Instead of dark chocolate coating, I used Milk chocolate as I found dark chocolate can be bitter for those who don’t like dark chocolate.  I also used a combination of cocoa butter and chocolate to increase the viscosity when coating the kisses.  It worked just as good.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

