Retrospect-A Year in Reflection

27 Dec

84158_v1New Years Eve looms around the corner, the sound of fizzing bubbling champagne enters the mind as the cork is popped open allowing a light stream of golden liquid flow into, their counter parts, long champagne flasks while laughing is heard in the background and confetti rains down in the room as the countdown to 2013 begins.  I sit complacently in the living room awashed from Christmas cheer and baking…what can be summed up in retrospect of 2012’s long walk?  If there was one word that could sum up 2012, it would be growth or in better terms personal growth.  2012 was laiden with highs and lows coming from milestones, realizations, happiness, sadness, and contentment and moving forth towards a better 2013 the next journey.

So lets start with the Milestones first:

1.  Pastry school- best thing that happened to me as it  filled an emptiness in me from high school.

2.  My Blog-Overcoming the initial the fear of  sharing myself  to the world.

3  Ecstasy- Notification from an educational institute saying that they will be ordering cakes from me…:).  Dream come true.

As with happiness there is also Sadness too

1.  Reliving an experience from the past in a recreation environment which drained me like crazy, but having the fortitude to face it with maturity and move on with minimal scarring.

2.  Change-coming to terms that my parents and I communicate and see the world differently, and while we argue due to differences in point of views, we still care for each other.  Change was  always painful as there is no comfort for loss of routine.  Acceptance and understanding was the key.   From the gatherings of Christmas and church, I think, every family has their difficulties and strife.  It was how it  is  handled that what counts.

No one can judge and criticize unless they live under the same roof and experiencing the same thing, we can only support and listen with empathy.

Realization and Contentment

To my family and friends your were always there to support and encourage me, in my darkest time and hour with  encouraging words and notes, I am forever indebted to you.  Your words and wisdom have moved me.  I don’t feel so alone in this rugged cold and sharp world anymore.

Crossroads1As I sit at crossroads looking onwards onto the road of 2013, I realize I am much more equipped and less confused to go down that path well knowing there are people whom I cherish supporting me.  2013 will be my year.

In a way I am like a seed, which battles harsh climates for survival like life’s journey but gathers its strength and nutrients from the soil similar through family and friends love, support and nurturing.   My own identity and unique qualities are developed  through challenges and one day when the weather is right and the sun is shining brightly so like a jewel in the turqoise blue sky, I will bloom and become a brilliant rose.  Rose Well that how I like to see myself.

Wishing you all the best 2013!!

2 Responses to “Retrospect-A Year in Reflection”

  1. Jo December 27, 2012 at 10:42 AM #

    Hi Eva, I’m proud of you for pursuing your passion. All the best in the new year!

    xo Jo

    • Eva December 28, 2012 at 8:43 PM #

      Thanks Joanne.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

