Christmas Baking Project 2-Gateau Saint Honore

26 Dec

DSC_0109With the holidays approaching, well that was aside from roaming about town snapping photos, picking up baking goodies, looking for cool glittery ornaments, stalling and deciding to decorate the house, I  finally had time to bake projects on my to do list that were flagged.  What a time to try new goodies as it definitely was the season.  Too bad it did not snow…I miss the white Christmas we had when I was little.  My uncle would bring us down to Central Park in the frosty winter wonderland and ice skate on the pond on Christmas Day.  I missed those days when I was little.  Life was simpler.  There were  little expections on us and our innocence.

Anyhow, the project I decided to try was Gateau Saint Honore.  I used an amalgamation of 3 recipes to complete this baking project.  It was time consuming but in the end well worth it.  I guess that goes for all complicated dessert pieces that had step after step of assembling unlike the drop cookies and its understandable why restaurants  charged an arm and leg.

First step was preparing the puff pastry and rolling it.  Using a circular cake ring cut the pastry into desired size.  Next up was making the choux paste.  Again I used Keller’s recipe for Eclairs as I found the recipe worked best with my oven.  I then piped the choux paste onto the puff pastry and then the pieces of choux paste that goes on the out rims of the finished product.

DSC_0097

Baking it at 400F while watching closely at the choux paste as they are the first to burn for approx 18 minutes.  Then as always keeping a close eye on the oven as it can have a mind of its own.  Once the time was up I reduced the temperature to 350 and proceeded to bake it some more for another 10-20 mintues for drying out.

DSC_0099

Next came the creme patisserie and preparing of the caramelized sugar for sticking puffs onto the centre piece.  I filled the individual puffs first and then dipped them into the hot sugar.  Please be careful as sugar at high temperatures can be hot and if not careful, you could get burned.  Once the choux puffs were dipped into the sugar, they were then placed on the silicone mat to harden.  Note:  I found the results from allowing the sugar to set on the mat had a better result.  I then dipped the bottom half of the the choux paste and arranged them onto the centre piece.DSC_0104

The finishing touch was using the St. Honore Tip and whipping up the creme chantilly, which basically is whip cream and sugar, and pipe out the topping.DSC_0106

I quite liked the Gateau St. Hononre, for its lightness and not over the top sweetness.  Next time I will try Herme’s matcha St. Honore.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

