Out and About Christmas 2 and Santa’s Munchies

15 Dec

Holidays were always a season of baking and decorating goodies for moi and giving them as presents to family and friends.  This year was no exception as I have been baking up a storm, next to volunteering.  I will soon to be contributing baked goodies and helping out with the bake sale at SFU Recital Clubs Christmas Concert. Goal was simple to make baked goodies to entice the unsuspecting guinea pig >:-)  But seriously, I had suggested the idea to the club execs to help raise funds to subsidize cost of attending concerts for SFU students.  A worthy cause yes?  Yeah…try to bake as much munchies and hone in my skills as January comes, I’ll be locked in the dark wet and soggy dungeon with ball and chain attached studying away in accounting…o.O* whimper…not funny…

Apart from that, as usual I have been zooming around town tirelessly taking photos of Christmas and cheer….well that is not true, it also helped me release the stress I had been experiencing…  Too bad it did not snow well, that was not true, it did for like 10 feeble seconds quite disappointing to say the least.  Oh well ten more days to go…

Cathedral Place

Look at those hanging balls…they look like humongous pinadas, I need a stick and a blind fold and a ladder 🙂

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

DSC_0051

Aside from taking photos and volunteering, I surfed the net for some traditional cookies for Christmas.  A traditional European Christmas Cookie, I made Linzer cookies.

Linzer Cookies from Joy of Baking

(http://www.joyofbaking.com/LinzerCookies.html) DSC_0038

1 cup (150 grams) whole almonds ( I used a combination of hazelnuts and almonds)

2 cups (260 grams) all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon (1 gram) ground cinnamon ( I only used Cinnamon)

1/2 teaspoon (2 grams) salt

Zest (outer yellow skin) of one small lemon (optional)

1 cup (226 grams) unsalted butter, room temperature

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar, divided

1 teaspoon (5 grams) pure vanilla extract

2 large (40 grams) egg yolks

Topping:

1/2 cup (60 grams) confectioners’ (Icing or Powdered) Sugar

1/2 cup (120 ml) Raspberry or Black Currant Jam (can use other flavored jams), well stirred

Notes:
-When creaming sugar and butter, make sure the butter is at room temperature and mix until creamy white and fluffy, the sugar helps aerate the batter making it more light.
-Next time, I will consider using icing sugar as sugar, I found the 3/4 cup sugar too sweet.
-When baking the cookies, I found 350F is too hot for the cookies as my first batch burnt a bit, thus reduced it to 330F and then watched the process.
-Sift icing sugar onto the cookies.
-For a less lumpy jam like look, I spooned the jam onto the bottom half of the cookies and re-inserted them into the warm oven so that the jam softened up a bit.  Making it a smoother appearance.
Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

