Beauty and Happiness

16 Nov

Its been quite a while I approached the subject as it was a touchy subject and often based on an individual’s perception or projection.  Having listened  to stories of individuals stemming from a few years and it impacted on how I perceived beauty and happiness down my journey.  Everyone deserves happiness and beauty in their life am I not right?  But it is how you see and appreciate it.

Some of my friends faced obstacles from ranging from single motherhood, depression, to torn up families and bullying etc.  Everyone had a story of their own; ultimately it was our decision on how we resolved it.  I witnessed friends who break down, become resentful and spiteful over their experience while others ruminate about their experiences until it became an obsession.   To them life was ugly and they were unhappy.  Then again, there was the retort, what about the terminally ill patients, patients requiring palliative care, paraplegics or individuals born with defects?  Do they go about their lives blaming people?   Despite their trials and challenges, they showed tenacity, grit and motivation to live life to the fullest with purpose and dignity; they were happy.  An example would Rick Hansen or Terry Fox.

I recently experienced events in the past month that have made me question on how I see life, beauty and happiness.  I too had gone through strife until I realized that I was building up negative energy.  As I pulled out of this vicious cycle, I remembered a  quote given to me by a older gentleman I met on trip down to San Franciso and Grand Canyon.  He said, “if you given a choice to live life happily or sad, why not live it happily. ” ” Life was beautiful it depends on how you saw it.”  So true.  Beauty’s seen in the most miniscule things like a lady bug gracefully tip toeing on a brilliant daisy in bloom underneath a turquoise blue sky or the fields of purple flowers dancing in the wind in Gary Point Park in Steveston whilst kites playfully zoom about the clear blue sky.  On a larger scale, it could be just two people taking a relaxing stroll peacefully through Stanley Park in brightly light parkway in Autumn absorbed in their own soft chatter and soaking in the crisp clean air.  Happiness, seeing a mother on Commercial Drive the other day with her 2 year old daughter and seeing the infant run around gleefully in the store stopping only for curiosity and peering at her mother for support.   Happiness was being content with who I am and what I have.

Tomorrow will be the Church function, but in preparation for the busy day ahead, I decided to make some pasta with meat sauce and mushrooms.  I have always liked the savory texture of parmesan crips thus decided to recreate it.  As a topping , roasted some pine nuts.

I leave this quote:
If you want your life to be a magnificent story, then begin by realizing that you are the author and everyday you have the opportunity to write a new page
     – Mark Houlahan –

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

