Bread…wonderful bread.

14 Sep

Just so happens I was itching to do some baking again today and felt an urge to make some bread. To me nothing smells better or tastes better than fresh bread baking in the oven and the aroma when it produces when baked. Wow….As I was strolling around in China over the weekend and was craving Chinese sausages thus I decided to I picked up some chinese sausages. This place was recommended to me by a relative. It is called the Dollar Meat Store located on Pender St. in Chinatown. Apparently it sold a variety of Chinese Bbq’d meats.  But what I was after the sausages.  So I have heard there was chinese sausages you get prepacked and then you get sausages which are hanged to dry.  As my relative stated the hanged dried ones were far more superior as it was more aromatic. So here we go. Just entering the store you see rows and rows of sausages, smoked bacon and duck. I decided to get some to make chinese sausage rolls.

Keys to bread making are kneading to develop the gluten,  proofing the bread for volume and baking.
As for the dough I used the basic sweet dough used for cinnamon buns, then added the chinese sausage and rolled it up in rolls.  I found that I quite liked the texture of the  buns.   I kneaded it, proofed it and then baked the buns.  When the buns were almost baked I brushed the buns with a little sugar, water and oil to promote a caramelized top.

Bread Dough

1 teasp. dry yeast

1/2 cup plus 1 teasp. sugar

1 1/4 cups warm milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

4 cups all purpose flour ( I used 5 cups flour)

1 teaspoon salt

1 stick of butter

1.  Warm milk and place yeast and 1 tsp. sugar.  Let ferment-yeast to bloom in the bowl.

2.  Add eggs, vanilla and remaining sugar and flour.  Knead.  Incorporate remaining butter bit by bit.  Add flour as needed.

3.  In the beginning the dough will be sticky, but as the dough develops gluten it will  become less sticky.  Knead for a good 15-20 minutes. 

4.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and proof for 2 hours minimum.

5.  Deflate dough and knead some more.  Divide dough into portions big enough for rolling sausage in.

6.  Once again let sit for dough to increase in size till 1 1/2 size.

7.  Preheat oven to 375F

8.  Bake for 22-26 minutes golden brown.  Brush with sugar, water and oil mixture for glaze on the buns.

One Response to “Bread…wonderful bread.”

  1. Christina September 19, 2012 at 6:23 PM #

    Nothing is better than fresh baked bread! These buns sound great…I love the idea of adding chinese sausage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

