I Dream of Chocolate

4 Sep

Yay…another long weekend and as usual I did some more baking to fulfill some orders. But first things first relaxation in the summer sun ahhhhhh….Again I decided to head down to, none other sunny, Steveston.  This time it is for fish and chips at Pajo’s.  Mmmm..their fish and chips are scrumptiously fresh and good. Here is the website for those who are interested http://www.pajos.com.   There was always a gathering of people in Steveston, all looking for good seafood, unique boutiques and fishing boats at the wharfs.  When there was good weather and lots of people, you can expect Pajos to be extra busy. Its an addiction I tell ya…you could see everyone who was into fish and chips to be there.

As usual on a long weekend…baking time.  I had a friend whose daughter was on the Sat, but because I did not have enough time, I decided to make chocolate truffle cupcakes for the little girl.  I first did the cupcake batter and then inserted a piece of pistachio truffle into the  of  each cake. A surprise in each bite.  To do this I filled the muffin cup half full and then added a  truffle.   As a finishing touch, when  the cupcakes were baked, icing sugar was dusted on to the cupcakes.  A strawberry was later placed on top. 

I found the cupcake moist and chocolatey and not too sweet.  No I opted not to ice the chocolate cupcakes as the recipe suggested.  I found the sugar used sufficed.

Chocolate Cupcakes-from Joy of Baking.

1/2 cup dutch processed cocoa powder (I used Valhrona)

1 cup hot boiling water (I used milk)

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking power

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup butter

2 large eggs

1 cup sugar

2 tsp. vanilla extract ( I used vanilla bean)

Preheat oven to 375F.  Lightly butter muffin cups.  In bowl mix boiling water and cocoa powder until smooth and let cool.  In another bowl combine flour, baking powder and salt.  In a 3rd bowl mix together butter and sugar until fluffy and add eggs one by one.  Beat until smooth.  Add the vanilla and flour mixture.  Beat until smooth and finally add the cooled cocoa mixture.

Fill muffin cup about two thirds  full and bake for 16-20 minutes or until risen.  Test for doneness.

In addition to this cake, I made another cake for a birthday order.  The order was for a Black Forest Cake.  But unlike most black forest cakes, which contained layers of whipped cream and cherries, the request was for as little cream as possible.  I found a chocolate creme patissiere recipe as an substitute.  The results were well…well received as the birthday party enjoyed their treat.

Chocolate Patisserie Creme

  • 1 ¼ cups whole milk
  • 2 oz. semi-sweet, melted (taste for chocolate flavour)
  • 3 egg yolks
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

I did not included the sponge cake base for the black forest recipe as there are tonnes out there; all with a different twist to it.  For my cake, I first baked the chocolate sponge and made the chocolate creme patisserie.   The cake was assembled with the creme patisserie as the middle layer.  No kirsch was added to this cake as children were eating the cake as well.  As for decoration,  I whipped up some cream and coated the cake.  Toasted almonds were used to garnish on the sides of the cake.  As a finishing touch I did some chocolate scrapings on a marble slab.  A combination of strawberries, blueberries and chocolate disks  were arranged on the cake.  Completed!

The cake was well received as apparently there was little left.  That is good news isn’t it?  🙂

2 Responses to “I Dream of Chocolate”

  1. Christina @ Sweet Pea's Kitchen September 8, 2012 at 8:02 PM #

    Mmmmm…I dream of chocolate too! 😉 I love the pistachio truffle inside the cupcake. Yummy!

    • Eva September 8, 2012 at 10:16 PM #

      thanks.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

