Berries and Berry Muffins for Berry Lovers

31 Aug

I guess I have been baking quite a bit these few days simply because I started working at a new assignment.  It’s part of the daily process, more like habit,  to make munchies and snacks to work instead of buying them outside.  While store bought snacks, or pastries look quite gorgeous, I find they are either too rich, sweet or fattening  which results in me nibbling a little bit here and there.  Rarely, do I finish the baked goods I buy outside.  When I do, they end up in my fridge.  😦  Because of this, I looked for alternative methods,  such as starting this blog, making my own desserts to my taste.

Having said that, I had fresh strawberries, frozen farm picked blueberries from this season and yoghurt handy;  thus decided to make some muffins.  I scoured the internet and found a decent looking recipe and decided to give it a try.  Although I can not speak for everyone, I found the muffins sweet with a tang from the strawberries and berries.  Quite refreshing and healthy from a fattening muffin.

Strawberry Blueberry Yogurt Muffins 
(spark people.com)

1 cup all purpose flour ( I used 2 cups all purpose flour instead)

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar ( I used 1 cup sugar)

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 eggs

1 cup yoghurt

1/4 cup butter

1 teaspoon vanilla (I substituted 1/2 vanilla bean)

1 cup fresh strawberries chopped

1/2 cup blueberries

pinch of cinnamon (I added for tasting)
Method:

  • Preheat oven to 375F.  Line pan with baking cups.  In a large bowl sift flour, sugar and baking soda together (dry ingredients)
  • In another bowl stir egg, yoghurt, butter and vanilla until blended.  Toss strawberries, blueberries into flour mixture.
  • Pour egg mixture into flour mixture and mix until flour just moistened.
  • Batter should be lumpy
  • Spoon into muffin cups
  • Bake 20-25 or until golden brown

Notes:

The muffin came out tangy and had a fragrant fruity vanilla  aroma.  I think the tang came from the yoghurt.  The muffin was moist and light and not too sweet even when I opted for 1 cup of sugar.  Cinnamon was subtle if any.  For next time,  nuts  could be added on top of the muffins during baking such as walnuts or pecan.  A crumble could be done for added taste and texture to the muffin.  Overall the recipe produced a a nice moist and light muffin that is not too sweet.  A good recipe for individuals who like fruits and like their pastries light.

2 Responses to “Berries and Berry Muffins for Berry Lovers”

  1. Christina September 3, 2012 at 8:11 PM #

    Mmmm…these muffins sound great!! 🙂

    • Eva September 13, 2012 at 11:33 AM #

      Thanks…I love your pear muffins.

Leave a Reply

Butter Baking

A blog of baked goods, custom cakes and desserts

Jo the tart queen

food, travel & photography

NOW, FORAGER

Teresa Floyd Food & Photography

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Jay Voclain - A sweet story

A Young pastry chef who aspires for more, decides to push her luck by moving to Los Angeles and starts her own company.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

Mon Voyage Culinaire

Nana's Culinary Journey

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking Without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

the blogging adventures of a 20-something teacher who loves to bake and create.

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

