Pecan Tart An Old Fashioned Favorite

30 Mar

I had a pecan tart at Giovani Cafe at the Pacific Rim Hotel the other day. Loving the sweet and crunchy combination of the tart and crust, I decided to see if I could recreate it.

The key to making the Pecan tart was actually the filling. I have seen recipes using corn syrup, cream, sugar and maple syrup. Favoring a chewier consistency, I opted for a recipe which called for maple syrup.

Keys in making a Pecan Tart:

1. Do not dock the pie/tart crust as the filling will seep out when cooking. You would get a mess of cooked eggs/sugar syrup and the end

Method:
a) To make the tart, I first made the crust first. Having repeated success with Felder’s Pate Sucre recipe, I choose to make it again this time using a Tahitian Vanilla Bean. The vanilla bean gave a floral after taste which complimented the light tart crust when baked. Instead of removal bottom tart pans, I chose to use ring molds. Once the pate sucre was finished, I placed the dough into the fridge before rolling it out into the tart rings.

b) While the pate sucre was chilling, I made the filling. The filling consisted of maple syrup, brown sugar, eggs, vanilla, butter and lemon juice. Unlike conventional recipes, this recipe called for a dry caramel from the brown sugar. The caramel was done, de-glaze it by adding the maple syrup and brought back to a boil again and then cooled. Once cooled pour the mixture over the beaten eggs and butter, vanilla and lemon juice.

c) To assemble, place the pecans on the bottom of the uncooked tart crust and pour in the filling. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes until golden brown and done.

DSC_0359

DSC_0360

Pecan Tart(recipe found here)

3/4 cup sugar
1 cup light corn syrup (I used maple syrup)
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
1 3/4 cups pecan halves

DSC_0361

Enjoy!!!

2 Responses to “Pecan Tart An Old Fashioned Favorite”

  1. andmorefood April 1, 2014 at 1:10 AM #

    pecan pies are my guilty order when I see them on menus!

  2. wattwurmnashi July 11, 2014 at 8:41 PM #

    Can’t go wrong with pecan pie

Leave a Reply

Hello Sweet Dessert

baking . cooking . et al

Mon Voyage Culinaire

It's all about food.

gretacooks

Life is short. Eat well.

My Baking Cottage

where sweet & savory meets!

Baking as Therapy

Recipes, musings and ideas- plus ' how to' tutorials

The Curious Baker

Gluten Free . Seasonal Recipes . Alternative Flours . Interesting Combinations

thebountifulplate

learn.savour.laugh

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

eat sweet. by carla sue

sharing my baking adventures with the big wide world!

My husband cooks

A tasty look at the food he makes, and I eat

The Pleasure Monger

Telling It As It Is

fête

adventures in food, travel, and photography

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette Blog

Liege Waffle Recipe / Gaufre de Liège Recette

Bicil The Baker

Sugar.High.

My kitchen of love ~

What's behind my kitchen door

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

Leelabean Bakes

Cakes, cookies, dessert! Learn how to bake!

100 Days Of Evelyn

Dessert recipes, tutorials and photography

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

